Monday, 7 April 2014


One of tips for 2014 and a Music Liberation favourite since we reviewed her debut EP 'Where' in August of last year, Sophie Jamieson has been working hard on new songs, and today a new one surfaced - 'Stain'. Part 1 of a double A-side the track is released through Luv Luv Luv Records and is produced by Ben Walker.

It's a breathtaking track, with gorgeously understated vocals, some voluptuous basslines and lots of shivering guitars which sweep in and out transfixing the listener. Again for someone so young the potential that Sophie has is pretty substantial, and it's safe to say we're really eager to closely follow her progress this year. // Sophie Jamieson // Luv Luv Luv Records

Wednesday, 2 April 2014


Whilst we can't purvey to be massively clued up aficionados of the electronica and house music scenes, we can certainly attend to the fact that we are big fans of new music ventures and the passion and commitment that comes from their emergence.

We are therefore glad to share a new short film directed by Rollo Jackson which shows just those things.

'London...On A Regular' takes a retrospective look at London's clubbing culture over the past decade, featuring guest interviews with the likes of Erol Alkan, Joe Goddard, Mark Ronson, and Richard Russell.

The film is produced by Somesuch and Co. // Rollo Jackson

Thursday, 27 March 2014


We first wrote about EMA (Erika M Anderson) back in 2011 when her debut record 'Past Life Martyred Saints' came out through City Slang, later naming it as our album of the year

She returns in 2014 with album number two - 'The Future's Void', which is released again through City Slang on April 7th. (We're more than a little bit excited you know...)

In the lead up to the album coming out a few tracks have been premiered, including 'Satellites' and '3Jane', but our favourite so far has been 'So Blonde' which you can check out the interesting video for below... // EMA

Wednesday, 19 March 2014


Next week sees the release of 'Blue Break', the second EP to come from 19 year old Jamie Isaac through House Anxiety / Marathon, and he's also playing this years Field Day Festival.

The 4-track record will please fans of artists such as James Blake and Jamie Woon with it's slow, soft, haunting, late night electronic beats and intelligent vocals.

It features the tracks 'Blue Break', 'She Dried', 'Mother's Love Don't Stretch', and 'Can See (Part 2)'. Clash have the EP streaming and you can pre order physical / digital.

Wednesday, 12 March 2014


Earlier this year Farao released her self titled debut EP through Something Nothing Records. The 4-track record is a pre-cursor to her first album coming out later this year, which is produced by Richard Formby (Wild Beasts, Ghostpoet).

Farao, aka Kari Johnson, grew up in Norway, recorded this album in Reykjavik, and for the past 2 years has been living in London. Upon the recording process in Iceland Farao says "Iceland is one of my favourite countries. My fantasy is to find some Icelandic Viking with a huge beard and move there one day,” she says. “I actually slept in the studio too, so the whole thing was really quite intense."

'Farao' is a confident sounding record from the off, with opener 'Tell A Lie' openly demonstrating her appeal; mainly quaint melodies with an undercurrent of electronica infused folk pop. Other tracks on the EP include 'Skin', 'The Hours', and 'To Sleep Apart'. The EP was recorded with Mike Lindsay from UK band Tunng. Farao // Something Nothing

Wednesday, 5 March 2014


The longlist for this years Glastonbury Festival Emerging Talent Competition 2014 has been announced, and we are pleased to reveal and support the 3 acts that we put forward - Wild Swim, La Petite Mort, and Will Samson.

120 acts have been put forward in total to compile the longlist, which will be narrowed down to a shortlist of 8 for the live finals in April for the chance to play a slot on one of the main stages at this years festival. You can view the longlist here.

Wild Swim are a five piece from Oxford who make slow, dark, hypnotic and ethereal pop songs. Quintessentially British this group make the sort of music that almost defies a specific era or genre, instead flitting from one subject to another with such ease that belies there tender years.

La Petite Mort blend a hybrid of shoegaze, psychedelia, new wave, and pop into something which somehow comes out sounding fresh, aligned and vibrant. The four piece from York construct beautiful sonic landscapes which they intend will 'melt perspective, inject euphoria, and enhance the soul'.

Will Samson creates music that draws you in almost unawares, with his fragile, heartfelt vocals wrapped around soft ambient electronic beats, glitches, hisses, and whatever else Samson has potentially left to breathe on this very much analogue sounding record.

Tuesday, 4 March 2014


Pearls Negras are Alice, Jeni, and Mari, 3 Brazilian ladies from Rio de Janeiro, who are signed to Bolabo Records.

'Pensado Em Você' is a track taken from a mixtape they put out at the end of last year titled 'Biggie Apple'.

A little while ago they put out the video for the track which was directed by David Alexander, and as you can see is shot in their home town of Rio and features a number of break dancers who are all friends of the group. / Pearls Negras / Bolabo Records

Wednesday, 26 February 2014


Very little is known about Hartheim. What we do know is that they are based in Manchester, they recorded the track 'Yellow' at Sway Records with producer Martin Hurley, and they can quite obviously produce outstanding pop music.

'Yellow' is a six minute plus journey that Hartheim carefully take you on. The trip starts slow and gradually builds and builds into a powerful, atmospheric, and emotionally charged finale. The vocals are purposely drawn out with the music plotted to enhance each word with its meaning. It's brooding and thoughtful, and made with an intent to provoke a reaction from the listener.